Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
  [ Shop ]   [ Building ]   [ Using ]   [ Recipes ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

Hybrid system question

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Electric Brewing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
E8ton

PostLink    Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:08 pm    Post subject: Hybrid system question Reply with quote

Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hey guys new to the form and 2 electric brewing I have been brewing with LP for 8 years now

I'm looking to make my system a hybrid and I was wondering if a 30 amp panel would be able to maintain a boil for 1BBL I'm not looking to bring to a boil was going to continue to use my LP set up for that but would like to be able to shut off the gas and maintain the boil with electric to cut down on heat in the summertime as it gets very hot in the garage

Thanks
Evan
kal
Forum Administrator

Drinking: Pub Ale, Electric Creamsicle, Mild, Pliny the Younger, Belgian Dark Strong, Weizen, Russian Imperial Stout, Black Butte Porter

PostLink    Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Evan,

Yes, no problems there. I know of many using a single 5500W element in the boil kettle producing 1 bbl.

Now that said, if you're going to go electric already, why bother with propane to get to boil? 50-80 of the heat of that flame bounces off the kettle and is adding to the heat in your garage. A heating element is submerged so 100% of the heat goes directly in the boil.

To save time you could do both I suppose: Heat with both propane and electric and then turn off the propane and enjoy the absolute silence of electric once at boil. Wink