Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
  [ Shop ]   [ Building ]   [ Using ]   [ Recipes ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

Running Power to a 50A Panel in Germany

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Using Your Brewery
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:51 pm    Post subject: Running Power to a 50A Panel in Germany Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I'm looking for anyone that has successful run power to a 50A panel in Germany. Apparently, after talking with an electrician (father-in-law), it is going to be difficult to get the power I need from my home. It's either run the house or the brewery. I'm wondering if anyone has been in the same situation and what the solution was for you? FYI, home was built in 1994.

Prost Mug

_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 10288
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Drinking: German Lager, Electric Hop Candy Jr, London Pride, Weizen, Citra DIPA, Dubbel, Russian Imperial Stout, Black Butte Porter

Working on: Kolsch


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum!

What sort of power do you have entering the home now?

Kal

_________________
Our new shop with over 150 new products: shop.TheElectricBrewery.com
Purchasing through our affiliate links helps support our site at no extra cost to you. We thank you!
My basement/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Currently have 3 phase 230VAC entering the home. The breakers and plug are rated for 16A. According to my electrician (father-in-law), we could get maybe 25 amps per phase, anything more and we wouldn't be able to run the house while I make beer.
_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 10288
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Drinking: German Lager, Electric Hop Candy Jr, London Pride, Weizen, Citra DIPA, Dubbel, Russian Imperial Stout, Black Butte Porter

Working on: Kolsch


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SchlandBrewer wrote:
Currently have 3 phase 230VAC entering the home.

What current capacity? That may help someone assist.

Kal

_________________
Our new shop with over 150 new products: shop.TheElectricBrewery.com
Purchasing through our affiliate links helps support our site at no extra cost to you. We thank you!
My basement/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears as if I might be limited to 25 amps. That's what the fuses are rated for on the main breaker panel.
_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
RyanTheSimp



Joined: 28 Mar 2017
Posts: 18


Drinking: El Jefe (Hefeweizen), Belgian Cream Ale

Working on: Electric Pale Ale, Smoked Bacon Red Ale


PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It appears as if I might be limited to 25 amps. That's what the fuses are rated for on the main breaker panel.


Can you take a photo of your panel? I would think yours sounds fine being that you need to use 2 spaces in your panel for the 50 amp circuit.
Back to top
Ozarks Mountain Brew



Joined: 22 May 2013
Posts: 739
Location: The Ozark Mountains of Missouri


PostLink    Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I cant be sure because the 3 phase there is different than here but 25 amps here will not work, the element at full power pulls 23 amps and the starting surge of the pumps both on might blow the breaker if your talking 5500 watt elements, you could go down 4500 watt elements though
_________________
"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world."
Back to top
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I'm having issue getting any of the photos to post. I'll keep working on it then try again.
_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
shmootsie



Joined: 01 Sep 2014
Posts: 23



PostLink    Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have an electrican at hand I can help with the conversion to 3-phase. Only set back is that you have to invest in some 3-phase ssr's and elements. You can find them in Belgium at https://store.brewpi.com/


Shmootsie
Back to top
itsnotrequired



Joined: 15 Sep 2015
Posts: 169
Location: central wi


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure you don't have a 400Y/230V system at your home? this is 400V phase-to-phase but 230V phase-to-neutral. in other words, a two pole breaker delivers 400V while a single pole breaker delivers 230V. the system i described is not uncomoon in germany but it would be rare to have a true 230V three phase system.
Back to top
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@itsnotrequired I can get 400V, you would be correct. As of now, I've been told by other electricians that the system can and would work as it currently sits. However; no one would make the upgrades as they consider it "unsafe". Every electrician recommends I make use of the three phase provided to the house to keep the amperage low, to obtain the power needed to run the system.

@shmootsie Thank you, I'm sure I will have to reconfigure some portions of my panel.

_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
SchlandBrewer



Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Location: Germany


PostLink    Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What to thank everyone on their inputs. With a little extra work, I've managed to get the panel running using 3 phase 230VAC. Just waiting on an electrician to install some new GFCI breakers, so I can run the elements, and I'll be in business.
_________________
"We could be happy if the air was as pure as beer." -Richard von Weizsaecker
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Using Your Brewery All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Support our site by purchasing through this link. We thank you!

Forum powered by phpBB © phpBB Group