Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
  [ Shop ]   [ Building ]   [ Using ]   [ Recipes ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

Re-pitching yeast from Conical Fermenter.

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Yeast & Fermentation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Electreak

PostLink    Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:01 pm    Post subject: Re-pitching yeast from Conical Fermenter. Reply with quote

Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hello members. This is my first post on the forums. I'm glad to say I completed my electric brewery only a few months ago, but I've been brewing for 3 years now.

There are always things to learn so I joining the forums to be able to learn as much as possible.

To get to the question at hand. I have a brew that is lagering in an ss conical fermenter. I pitched 3 packages of california lager yeast at 69F, and let the temperature drop to 62F and stay there.

This beer was 1.065 OG before pitching the yeast.

I now am reading 1.035 SG, and it has been stuck there.

I know I can rouse the yeast by shaking the fermenter, but I am wondering if it would be easier, or better, to drain the yeast from the bottom of the fermenter, then just re-pitch it into the top of the fermenter.

If this is a good way to get the buggers devouring the sugars again, what are thing that I should be aware of while doing this process?

I understand that sanitation is probably number one.

Thank you in advance for any help on this,

Ryan
kal
Forum Administrator

Drinking: Pub Ale, Electric Creamsicle, Mild, Pliny the Younger, Belgian Dark Strong, Weizen, Russian Imperial Stout, Black Butte Porter