Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
  [ Shop ]   [ Building ]   [ Using ]   [ Recipes ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

240 VOLT BOIL KETTLE GFCI INSTALLATION

Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Electric Brewing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bigbird

PostLink    Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:31 am    Post subject: 240 VOLT BOIL KETTLE GFCI INSTALLATION Reply with quote

Register to remove this ad. It's free!
Hello experts.....really need your help here...and sorry for the novel...
I have been making beer for about 30 years or so. Went to all grain 2 years ago (stove top), and now I am in the process of getting set up in the basement for electric. I am trying to install a TRC 25000 inline GFCI for my heater element equipped brew kettle, without success.
I am absolutely USELESS when it comes to electricity! I don't understand it....but anyway, here's my question/dilemma.
I have a dedicated 240 volt wire, on a 20 AMP breaker, that comes directly from my 200 amp box. The circuit was previously used for a pair of baseboard heaters that have since been removed.
The dedicated wire, coming from the 200 amp box, has a BLACK lead, a RED lead and a BARE ground lead. My TRC 25000 GFCI unit has a BRASS colored screw, SILVER colored screw and a GREEN colored screw on the LINE side. It has the same configuration on the LOAD side. I have tried connecting everything as follows: From the dedicated 240 volt wire to the LINE side of the TRC GFCI:- BLACK lead to the BRASS screw, RED lead to the SILVER screw and the BARE ground lead to the GREEN screw.