Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
Home ]   [ Products ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ What's New ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

Syl-2362 alarm wiring help me please

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Building Your Brewery
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
juic



Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 42



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:17 pm    Post subject: Syl-2362 alarm wiring help me please Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I bought 3 syl-2362 and I'm trying to figure out how to wire them like kals set up. Everything is easy except I can't figure out how to wire the alarms??? Has anyone used these that can help me Mug
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
sigsegv



Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 38
Location: San Francisco, CA


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the 2362's and here's what I did. The easiest way to wire the alarm would be to use terminals 4&5 for J1's NO relay. This is the relay for AL1 which closes when the alarm comes on. You would wire hot to 4 and then wire 5 to your alarm switch. The other side of alarm switch goes to the alarm and the other side of the alarm goes to neutral. This is essentially what I did on mine.

The additional thing I did was to put jumpers between 5&13 and 4&14. Doing this ties J2's NO relay (aka AL2) into the same switched alarm indicator. I've yet to come up with a use case for the second alarm, but it's wired in case I ever do need it.
Back to top
juic



Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 42



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you wire 3 of them in parallel like kals did.
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
sigsegv



Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 38
Location: San Francisco, CA


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, all three are tied into the same alarm indicator(s) the same way as in Kal's original design by jumpering together all of the alarm switch outputs.
Back to top
juic



Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 42



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome when I get home ill take a look at it. Thanks for helping me with that. If I have any questions ill hit you up. Mug
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
juic



Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 42



PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So when you say power to terminal 2 do you mean run the black wires from each switch to each pid. So switch to terminal 4. Then go from pid to pid connecting terminal 5 together then from the last pid to the alarm. You have any pics or anything you can send me. Sometimes it's easier for me to see it than read it.
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
sigsegv



Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 38
Location: San Francisco, CA


PostLink    Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a picture of my door wiring: http://www.flickr.com/photos/quantumfish/8400476845/in/set-72157632366743343/lightbox/

The alarm buzzer/light is a combined unit. It's the round one above the timer on the left end. For each PID and alarm switch there's a black wire running from terminal 5 to the alarm switch. Then on the other side of the alarm switch, the black wire runs to the next alarm switch and then at the end of the alarm switches it finally goes to the alarm buzzer/light itself. On each PID I also jumper from terminal 1 to terminal 4. Terminal 1 is the black wire that supplies power to the PID.
Back to top
juic



Joined: 31 Jan 2013
Posts: 42



PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I sent a pic then read your post. So switches to terminal 5 that makes sense. Then you say jumper from terminal 1 to terminal 4 I don't see any jumpers in your pic??? There may be but I'm trying to look on my phone and I just can't see very well on a small screen. So on my pic I sent you I drew in lines from the switches to terminal 5 on he pid. Help me with the rest what am I missing?? Thanks
Back to top
View user's photo album (4 photos)
sigsegv



Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 38
Location: San Francisco, CA


PostLink    Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure where the picture went, but I haven't seen it.

You're right on the 1-to-4 jumper in the picture. It doesn't exist. That's just what I had in my original notes. When I actually went to do the wiring, I pulled a wire back from the hot bus and connected it to terminal 14 of the BK PID on the far right and then there's a jumper from 14 to 4. It works the same whether you just jump the power off the terminal that's powering a PID, run all the way back to the hot bus, or pull it from some other connection point that makes sense.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Building Your Brewery All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Support our site by purchasing through this link. We thank you!

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group