Return to TheElectricBrewery.com
  [ Shop ]   [ Building ]   [ Using ]   [ Recipes ]   [ Testimonials ]   [ Gallery ]   [ FAQ ]   [ About Us ]   [ Contact Us ]   [ Newsletter ]

Log inLog in   RegisterRegister   User Control PanelUser Control Panel   Private MessagesPrivate Messages   MembershipClub Memberships   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   Photo AlbumsPhoto Albums   Forum FAQForum FAQ

Does anyone elses AMP meter show 2-3 amps with just power on

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Building Your Brewery
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rvklein



Joined: 17 Jan 2011
Posts: 20



PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:27 pm    Post subject: Does anyone elses AMP meter show 2-3 amps with just power on Reply with quote


        Register to remove this ad. It's free!
I don't have my PIDs, timers, temp controllers wired up yet but most switches are. After replacing a transformer/voltmeter/DC PS my voltage shows aok. However my AMP meter shows I'm pulling 2-3 AMPs with just lights on Even if it's just the power light.

A cause for concern?
Back to top
rosenjm



Joined: 21 Dec 2010
Posts: 249
Location: Ballston Spa, NY


PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think is cause for concern. Your power light isn't pulling 2 amps. Make sure your DC power supply output is correct and that your amp meter is correctly wired to the shunt. Mine shows about 0.2 amps with nothing running (pumps or elements).
Back to top
View user's photo album (18 photos)
kal
Forum Administrator


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 10196
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Drinking: German Lager, Electric Hop Candy Jr, Scottish 70/-, Cali Common, Maibock, Helles, Russian Imperial Stout, Black Butte Porter

Working on: Weizen


PostLink    Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It may be also that the shunt is not properly matched for the amp meter, or a jumper in the amp meter is set wrong (ie: the seller did something wrong). On the back of the amp meter it should be written what ohm rating shunt should be used and if you measure the shunt with an ohmeter it should match.

Kal

_________________
Our new shop with over 150 new products: shop.TheElectricBrewery.com
Purchasing through our affiliate links helps support our site at no extra cost to you. We thank you!
My basement/bar/brewery build 2.0
Back to top
View user's photo album (21 photos)
rvklein



Joined: 17 Jan 2011
Posts: 20



PostLink    Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You know... My first amp meter was DOA, I probably did not change the shunt out when I replaced it....
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer-friendly view    TheElectricBrewery.com Forum Index -> Building Your Brewery All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Support our site by purchasing through this link. We thank you!

Forum powered by phpBB © phpBB Group